St Trinians II: The Legend of Frittons Gold (2009) Poster

St Trinians II: The Legend of Frittons Gold (2009)

  • Rate: 5.0/10 total 2,315 votes 
  • Genre: Adventure | Comedy
  • Release Date: 18 December 2009 (Ireland)
  • Runtime: 106 min
Our Score
88/100
695 user reviews.

User Score (vote now)
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars


You're here : » » St Trinians II: The Legend of Frittons Gold (2009)...

St Trinian's II: The Legend of Fritton's Gold (HD Trailer) St. Trinian's II - The Legend of Fritton's Gold subITA 1/13 St.Trinians 2 The Legend of Frittons Gold. 1/8 ( sub. español) David Tennant in St. Trinian's 2 T4 Premiere Special (HQ) St. Trinian's 2: The Legend of Fritton's Gold P.1 The Legend of Fritton's Gold - Trailer 

St Trinians II: The Legend of Frittons Gold (2009)

St Trinians II The Legend of Frittons Gold 2009tt1210106.jpg poster

  • IMDb page: St Trinians II: The Legend of Frittons Gold (2009)
  • Rate: 5.0/10 total 2,315 votes 
  • Genre: Adventure | Comedy
  • Release Date: 18 December 2009 (Ireland)
  • Runtime: 106 min
  • Filming Location: Knebworth House, Stevenage, Hertfordshire, England, UK
  • Gross: £3,385,830(UK)(27 December 2009)
  • Stars: Rupert Everett, Colin Firth and David Tennant
  • Original Music By: Charlie Mole   
  • Soundtrack: Jump Off

Writing Credits By:

    (in alphabetical order)

  • Piers Ashworth  screenplay
  • Jamie Minoprio  additional material
  • Nick Moorcroft  screenplay
  • Jonathan M. Stern  additional material

Known Trivia

  • The treasure seen in the trailer consists of “gold” coins. These are actually Bulgarian currency coins of 1 and 2 stotinki (cents) made of brass-plated steel, not gold.
  • The safe of AD1 includes files on or pictures of various famous women: Sylvia Plath (marked terminated), Indira Gandhi, Jacqueline Kennedy (as Jackie Onassis, terminated), Rosa Parks, Janis Joplin, Mother Teresa (terminated), Princess Margaret (terminated), Katharine Hepburn, Margaret Thatcher (neutralized) and Marilyn Monroe (terminated).
  • Kelly says she is working for MI7, which is the now defunct British Military Intelligence Section 7, and was part of the War Office set up to work in the fields of propaganda and censorship.
  • Kelly says she is working for MI7, which is the British Military Intelligence Section 7. Which is now defunct and was part of the War Office, MI7 was set up to work in the fields of propaganda and censorship.

Goofs: Anachronisms: At the beginning of the film the sailors are heard singing "Fifteen men on a dead man's chest / Yo ho ho and a bottle of rum!" This is not a genuine sea shanty but was created by Robert Louis Stevenson for the novel "Treasure Island", published in 1883, so the sailors would not know it.

Plot: The girls of St. Trinians are on the hunt for buried treasure after discovering headmistress Miss Fritton is related to a famous pirate.  »

Story: The girls of St. Trinians are on the hunt for buried treasure after discovering headmistress Miss Fritton is related to a famous pirate.

FullCast & Crew

Produced By:

  • Paul Brett known as executive producer
  • Rupert Everett known as executive producer
  • Nigel Green known as executive producer
  • Mark Hubbard known as co-producer
  • Sophie Meyer known as co-producer
  • Oliver Parker known as producer
  • Chris Smith known as executive producer
  • Tim Smith known as executive producer
  • James Spring known as executive producer
  • Barnaby Thompson known as producer

FullCast & Crew:

  • Rupert Everett known as Camilla / Captain Archibald / Fortnam Fritton
  • Colin Firth known as Geoffrey Thwaites
  • David Tennant known as Lord Pomfrey
  • Talulah Riley known as Annabelle Fritton
  • Jodie Whittaker known as Beverly
  • Juno Temple known as Celia
  • Tamsin Egerton known as Chelsea
  • Toby Jones known as Bursar
  • Sarah Harding known as Roxy
  • Zawe Ashton known as Bianca
  • Montserrat Lombard known as Zoe
  • Ella Smith known as Lucy
  • Celia Imrie known as Matron
  • Clara Paget known as Bella
  • Gabriella Wilde known as Saffy
  • Cloe Mackie known as Tania
  • Jessica Bell known as Beth
  • Holly Mackie known as Tara
  • Gemma Arterton known as Kelly Jones
  • Christian Brassington known as Peters
  • Tom Riley known as Romeo
  • Georgia King known as Juliet
  • Katherine Parkinson known as Physics Teacher
  • Pip Torrens known as Heathcoat Parker
  • Zara Treherne known as Georgiana
  • Tallulah Evans known as Jeminima
  • Lola Mae Loughran known as Patience
  • Paul Putner known as Steve the Barman
  • Aran Bell known as Headmaster
  • Freddie Fox known as Head Boy
  • Angus Barnett known as Drunken Sailor
  • Giles New known as Drunken Sailor
  • David Armand known as Police Officer
  • Colin Michael Carmichael known as Police Officer
  • Edith Thompson known as Tabitha
  • Bonnie Mallet known as Globe Look Out Girl
  • Paris Husty known as Globe Whispering Girl
  • Florence Grounds known as Witch Doctor Julie
  • Salaheddinn Essayah known as Pomfrey's Henchman
  • Steve Furst known as Arbuthnott
  • Daisy Tonge known as Daisy – The Banned of St Trinian's
  • Humphrey Ker known as AD1 Member
  • Ricky Wilson known as Rockstar
  • Denise Stephenson known as Reporter
  • Jessica Agombar known as Jess
  • Harriet Bamford known as Harriet
  • Victoria Barker known as Emma M
  • Jessica Henwick known as Globe Girl (uncredited)
  • Forbes KB known as Commando Leader (uncredited)
  • Ross Peacock known as Globe Audience Member (uncredited)
  • Paul Warren known as Seedy Drinker (uncredited)

..

 

Supporting Department

Makeup Department:
  • Jessica Alexander known as crowd makeup trainee
  • Nicola Buck known as hair stylist
  • Nicola Buck known as makeup artist
  • Kirstin Chalmers known as hair & makeup designer (2009)
  • Sally Crouch known as crowd hair trainee: dailies
  • Sally Crouch known as crowd makeup trainee: dailies
  • Lucy Friend known as crowd makeup trainee: dailies
  • Tracey Lee known as makeup artist
  • Laura Lilley known as hair stylist
  • Laura Lilley known as makeup artist
  • Kristyan Mallett known as prosthetics makeup designer
  • Kate May known as hair and make up trainee
  • Gilly Popham known as hair stylist
  • Gilly Popham known as makeup artist
  • Nina Pratley known as crowd hair trainee
  • Nina Pratley known as crowd makeup trainee
  • Rachael Speke known as crowd hair/makeup artist: daily
  • Brigitta Smart known as makeup artist: dailies (uncredited)

Art Department:

  • Lucy Bullen known as props assistant
  • Simon Duric known as storyboard artist
  • Stuart Headley-Read known as stand-by props: dailies (as Stuart Read)
  • Shay Leonard known as stand-by props
  • Bridget Menzies known as art department manager
  • Sarah Priest known as art department assistant
  • Dave Reed known as construction manager
  • George Simons known as graphic designer
  • Sophie Tarver known as propmaker
  • Rebecca Todd known as art department assistant
  • Bart Tuft known as stand-by props

..

 

Company

Production Companies:

  • Aegis Film Fund
  • Ealing Studios
  • Fragile Films
  • Prescience

Other Companies:

  • ARRI Lighting Rental  lighting equipment
  • ARRI Media  camera and grip equipment provided by
  • Anvil Post Production  sound re-recording
  • Audiolink Radio Communications  walkie talkies
  • Casting Collective  extras casting
  • Compuhire  computer & video playback
  • Film Finances  completion guarantor
  • Goldcrest Post Production London  ADR Facility
  • HireWorks  Avid Unity Rental
  • Kodak  motion picture film supplier
  • MGFX Studio  titles
  • Media Services  stationery supplier: production
  • Production Copier Company  production equipment and services
  • Reelsound  sound post-production
  • Sapex Scripts  post-production script services
  • Technicolor  dailies
  • Technicolor  negative development
  • Technicolor  release printing
  • West Trend Apartments  accommodation agent

Distributors:

  • Entertainment Film Distributors (2009) (UK) (theatrical)
  • Concorde Home Entertainment (2011) (Germany) (DVD)
  • Entertainment in Video (2010) (UK) (DVD)
  • Irfan Film (2011) (Turkey) (all media)

..

 

Other Stuff

Visual Effects by:
  • Matthew Baker known as digital restoration
  • Barry Corcoran known as motion graphics artist
  • Fawnda Denham known as visual effects line producer
  • Simon Frame known as visual effects supervisor
  • Charlotte Gray known as digital restoration
  • Thomas M. Horton known as set vfx supervisor
  • Emma Hulme known as digital restoration
  • Sarah Juniper known as digital compositor
  • Simon Kilroe known as visual effects artist
  • Matthew Lawrence known as motion graphics
  • Brad Le-Riche known as motion graphics
  • Rick McMahon known as compositor
  • Molinare known as visual effects
  • Collette Nunes known as visual effects editor
  • Suchita Suryamurty known as visual effects coordinator
  • Audrius Urbonavicius known as digital matte artist
  • Anthony Webb known as visual effects artist

Release Date:

  • Ireland 18 December 2009
  • UK 18 December 2009
  • Germany 3 February 2011 (DVD premiere)
  • Finland 13 April 2011 (DVD premiere)
  • Norway 13 April 2011 (DVD premiere)
  • Sweden 13 April 2011 (DVD premiere)
  • Denmark 19 April 2011 (DVD premiere)
  • Turkey 17 June 2011

..

 
 

Filmography links and data courtesy of The Internet Movie Database


St Trinians II: The Legend of Frittons Gold (2009) Related Movie


Jeffie Was Here (2010) Movie Poster
Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy (2011) Movie Poster
King of Devils Island (2010) Movie Poster
All About Evil (2010) Movie Poster
Dont Look Back (2009) Movie Poster


Posted on March 30, 2012 by admin in Movies | Tags: , , .

16 Comments

  1. Trackback
    07 Jun 2014, 5:32 pm

    I have some question…

    I want to start a blog on myyearbook but i cant find the box on my profile.. I have made sure i have checked the box to show my latest blog in the manage profile boxes section.. But it still wont show up.. Please help.. Is there any other way to start …

  2. Trackback
    06 May 2014, 7:13 am

    I like your blog…

    I want to make my own website to sell things but I have no idea where to start.. I don’t no what websites to go on, or how much it will be (or if there’s any way i can do it for free? ). Can someone give me as much information as possible and a websi…

  3. Trackback
    10 Mar 2014, 10:10 am

    Funny…

    What are good blog posts for a writer who wants to start a blog that even non-readers might want to visit?…

  4. online math tutor
    13 Nov 2013, 5:51 am

    The Silent Shard…

    This will probably be really handy for a few of one’s positions I plan to do not only with my web site but…

  5. marko man
    08 Nov 2013, 1:34 am

    The Birch of the Shadow…

    I think there might be a couple duplicates, but an exceedingly helpful list! I have tweeted this. Lots of thanks for sharing!…

  6. carbon marcky
    07 Nov 2013, 3:10 am

    St Trinians II: The Legend of Frittons Gold (2009)…

    Amongst me and my husband we have owned far more MP3 gamers through the years than I can count, like Sansas, iRivers, iPods (common…

  7. Paul Haakonsen from Denmark
    30 Mar 2012, 11:04 am

    Having liked the first St. Trinian's movie, I was looking forward tosee this sequel. However, it was somewhat of a disappointment comparedto the first movie.

    You have the hilarious headmistress here again and of course thecolorful and unique schoolgirls that we all know and love from thefirst movie. And this was what was working well for the movie. There isa lot of over-caricatured stereotypical archetypes in the movie, fromthe geeks to the emos and everything in between.

    The story was in itself nice enough, having a good plot, butunfortunately it was delivered in a very chaotic and disorganizedmanner. It seemed like the producer wanted too much to be happening inevery single shot. And the end result turned out to be confusing insorts and very disharmonious. I, for one, didn't like the way thismovie turned out. Had they cut down on it and simplified it, it wouldhave worked so much better.

    Also the movie was full of nice sets, costumes and props.The attentionto detail in the movie was really cool. So hats off to those in chargeof that.

    "St. Trinians 2: The Legend of Frittons Gold" is labeled as comedy, butthis is not the type of comedy that will make you roll around on thefloor laughing. The humor in the movie is fast and witty, and youshould be familiar with British slang and word-play to fully catch someof the lines here. And I am sure that teenagers will love this movieand take it to heart.

  8. gary-444 from United Kingdom
    30 Mar 2012, 11:04 am

    The St Trinians stories are good ones. I feared the worst with thefirst remake, and was pleasantly surprised. I watched this second"reimagining" – and was very disappointed. So, what went wrong? Threethings, Russell Brand was missing, Sarah Harding is not good enough tocarry a female lead, and too much of the action was out of school.

    I suspect that the budget was bigger for this one, but it was wastedoff premises. The charm is "the school" in the broadest sense, and thiswas lost in a bizarre plot focusing on lost pirate treasure. No StTrinians story is complete without "Flash", yet he is missing. DavidTennant is lost in the strangely written role of Lord Pomfrey, RupertEverett and Colin Firth reprise their roles in the first film, but tomuch less effect.

    Previously Stephen Fry was brought in to boost the final act- and itworked, together with Girls Aloud as the School Band. This time aroundthere is no such imagination or stardust. To mess up what isfundamentally such a strong concept takes some doing – but that isexactly what Directors Oliver Parker and Barnaby Thompson do. Mostdamning for a comedy – it isn't funny.

  9. cattydecatcat from United Kingdom
    30 Mar 2012, 11:04 am

    I saw this with my mum and my younger sister, amazingly we were theonly people in the cinema (I'd have thought more people would havewanted to see it). In comparison to the first one, I would say thatthis one is more child friendly (hence the PG certificate) there isless dark and sexually orientated humour. However i didn't find it asfunny (personally). However I loved it, the script is funny and theplot is ridiculous and strangely unpredictable, it also has one danceroutine at a train station, which I thought was ingenious (I know,that's sad). One slight problem though- not enough of Gemma Arterton-Never mind, hopefully they'll be another sequel with lots more of herin it.

  10. simon3818 from United Kingdom
    30 Mar 2012, 11:04 am

    I saw this today in an empty cinema – OK it was 9am showing in snowySurrey – and i thought it was very good.

    The plot was easy to follow. The acting and script were good and theideas new and original for a sequel.

    The girls are looking for the Frittons missing treasure that also LordPomfrey is looking for over a disputed ownership 400 odd years ago. ASimple plot with a lot of adventure, humour and thrill of the chase,Plenty of twists and turns. This isn't as some have described it as aSarah Harding Show as she was more or less in the background most ofthe time with probably no more than a page of script.

    Only down points. 1, couldn't keep the same cast as the first but thenagain its a school so pupils always leave and join. 2, (sorry spoiler)not enough of Gemma Arterton.

    The start of the film with the mini is slightly predictable buthilarious all the same.

    Watch it. I say its for any age.

  11. geoffgee from Sheffield, England.
    30 Mar 2012, 11:04 am

    Lots of things impressed me about this film. The incredibly imaginativeplot takes the action into several widely varied settings, all of whichI thought were painstakingly realised. The girls are a wonderfullydiverse bunch and I liked the way in which, in spite of theirdifferences, they make getting along with each other more importantthan their rivalries. The humour is plentiful and is nice and evenlyspread over the entire film. For me the girls' comments amongstthemselves provided some of the funniest moments, but there is alsoplenty of witty absurdity present throughout the suspenseful plot. Gooduse is also occasionally made of the background music (some of which Ithought bore more than a passing resemblance to what I've heard inother films). In truth, I was never all that keen on early Britishcomedies. However, I'm glad I didn't let that put me off seeing this asI thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish!

  12. Neil Welch from United Kingdom
    30 Mar 2012, 11:04 am

    The St Trinian's films of the 50s and 60s were a quintessential Englishoddity. They were broad comedies based on Ronald Searle's eccentricdrawings of a girl's boarding school. This school operated on aquasi-criminal basis where you rooted for the girls because theyweren't so much wicked as naughty, constantly seeking to get one overon authority, bigger criminals etc. They were not great works of art,they fitted their own niche and reflected their time.

    Fritton's Gold is the second movie in the revived franchise, and itdoes much the same thing as its predecessors – it reflects the era inwhich it is made through a broad comedy about slightly delinquentschoolgirls. Rupert Everett reprises headmistress Miss Fritton in thetradition started by Alistair Sim of the headmistress being played by aman in drag and, like Sim, he also plays other family members. It isalso pleasing to see Colin Firth, David Tennant and Toby Jonesrevelling in playing such broad and very British material.

    There is a tolerable plot running through this, although I felt it wenton a bit too long. The girls carry much of the movie, of course, andmost of the key players get their own moments. I chuckled fairlyconstantly through most of it, and felt that it was a satisfactoryupdating of the fondly-remembered originals.

    It is also worth pointing out that it is relatively lowly placed in thesmut and bad language stakes.

  13. TheLittleSongbird from United Kingdom
    30 Mar 2012, 11:04 am

    I am not going to lie and say this sequel is a masterpiece because itisn't for me. But I don't consider it a bad film, in fact I thought itwas pretty entertaining. Comparing it to the first film, which I alsoliked even with its faults, I haven't completely made up my mind whichI prefer, as both had their good and bad points that were eitherimproved upon or diminished.

    In terms, I'd say the sequel had the more eventful plot, that saidthere were occasions where there was too much going on, and both filmsadmittedly had episodic story structures with some entertaining parts.While I liked the acting on the whole, two performances weren't quitethere. One was Gemma Arterton, now I am not dismissing her as a badactress because she isn't-see her in Tess of the D'Urbevilles she isbrilliant there- it's just that she doesn't have much to do this timearound. The other is I agree Sarah Harding, she looked pretty but heracting and facial expressions I felt were all wrong and to me herpresence felt pointless.

    In terms of scripting, there are some fun lines(this is interminable),as well as some very silly ones(Seriously, she'd snog a melon if youdrew a mouth on it). There were also some good scenes(and plenty ofanarchy between the schoolgirls), such as the one at the boy'sschool(my brother was an extra in this scene), the ruination of Romeoand Juliet, the sword fight between Geoffrey and Romeo and the searchfor the ring in the dark. The two scenes that didn't quite work so wellwere the ending, which felt rather abrupt, and the part where Annabelleis in the school infirmary in exorcist fashion, which came across as alittle too silly for my taste.

    St Trinians 2 is nice to look at, it isn't high art, but the buildingsare imposing and it was nice to see London again. The music isdelightful, and the direction is decent. Apart from Harding andArterton to a lesser degree, the other performances are fine. RupertEverett is a lot of fun to watch, while Colin Firth has more to do thistime around and is wonderful. Tululah Riley gives a nice account ofherself as well, as does Toby Jones, while David Tennant makes for anexcellent if somewhat hammy villain of the piece.

    Overall, no masterpiece but it was at least watchable. It keepsreasonably to the somewhat chaotic tone of the first film, and whilethe plot was a little busy in places and there were moments of stalelaughs or acting, I enjoyed it. 6/10 Bethany Cox

  14. annarrgh from Wrexham, United Kingdom
    30 Mar 2012, 11:04 am

    i saw this today and as a part of its target audience, i would say thatthis has done a pretty good job. although, in my opinion it wasn't asgood as the first film and does get a bit silly at times, it still hadloads funny parts and was highly entertaining. I Particularly lovedChelsea, i loved how she had more of a chance to shine in this filmmore than in the other one and i loved Miss Fritton, again, she was alot funnier in this film. I also loved Zoe the Emo's character, ithought she was a lot better and likable than the Emo from the lastfilm. I think a lot of the reviews for this film have been unfair, itsnot supposed to be a clever, award-winning masterpiece, its supposed bea fun and light-hearted comedy which is what it has achieved very well.As long as its not taken seriously, St. Trinians 2 is a really goodfilm.

  15. dickens-leanne from United Kingdom
    30 Mar 2012, 11:04 am

    This is an absolute Christmas cracker. I think it is slicker and morepolished than the first film, and Rupert Everett is even better thistime around as the eponymous Miss Fritton. It is camp, witty andoutrageous and full of classic one liners. The new girls are hilariousand Tamsin Edgerton who played Chelsea has proved that her futurecareer lies in comedy. Yes It's movie/panto for the masses, but that'shalf of its charm. At a time when England is in the grip of massunemployment and recession, this is the kind of family comedy thateveryone can enjoy. I cannot believe all of the bad reviews. That said,the vast majority of them are written by men aged 35-60. Go figure! Atleast the filmmakers know their target audience, unlike the peoplewho's job it is to criticise. I'm sure it will be as successful as thefirst film. Top marks class. No detention for anyone.

  16. A-Clockwork-Bobbin from UK
    30 Mar 2012, 11:04 am

    It's really hard to rate St Trinian's 2. On the one hand, it is lively,sharp, and amusing, but on the other hand, the plot is a littledisappointing. The film itself borders on the 'absolutely surreal'(mind you, it's a bit ironic to claim this against St Trinian's school,eh??), which somehow, I thought, made it a bit awkward to watch.

    As ever, the stereotypes of teenage schoolgirls is strong, which addsto the overall enjoyment of the film, and as you can expect with yourtypical British comedy film, there are the odd pieces of play-on-wordshumour which you have to be quick to catch up on. Also watch out forreferences to famous films or other popular-culture references (you'llunderstand what I mean when you watch it).

    (And before you ask: It's generally clean humour. No toilet humour/fartjokes.)

    Thus, I give this a rating of 6/10, mainly because of its overallcleverness and entertainment value. Would I recommend it? Yes I would;it's about time a comedy film had real humour in it, even if it ismasked in a very bizarre plot.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.